Village Elections: Newcomers Take Westhampton Beach; All Quiet in Other Races

Westhampton Beach
Westhampton Beach, Downtown.

Westhampton Beach saw an upset victory in village elections Friday, with Rob Rubio and Brian Tymann of the Our Village Party trouncing incumbent village trustees and Lightning Party members Hank Tucker and Patricia DiBenedetto.

Mr. Tymann took home 258 votes; Mr. Rubio took home 240 votes;  Ms. DiBenedetto took home 161 votes and Mr. Tucker took home 142 votes.

The two newcomers, both business owners, had run on a pro-business platform, suggesting sewering downtown Westhampton Beach in order to allow more restaurants there.

Mr. Rubio is the owner of Rubio Premier Motors on Montauk Highway and Mr. Tymann is a solar energy consultant who recently started the Hampton Cigar Company.

Quogue Village Board incumbents Ted Necarsulmer and Randy Cardo were easily re-elected on Friday, taking home 237 and 301 votes, respectively. Newcomer Bill Horak received 115 votes.

In Southampton Village’s uncontested election, Mayor Mark Epley was reelected with 135 votes. Village Trustees Nancy McGann and Bill Hattrick each took home 131 votes.

In Sagaponack’s uncontested election, village trustees Joy Sieger and William Barbour were elected with 42 votes and 41 votes, respectively.


Beth Young

Beth Young has been covering the East End since the 1990s. In her spare time, she runs around the block, tinkers with bicycles, tries not to drown in the Peconic Bay and hopes to grow the perfect tomato. You can send her a message at

One thought on “Village Elections: Newcomers Take Westhampton Beach; All Quiet in Other Races

  • June 20, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    How are the Westhampton Beach election results “an upset?”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please prove you're human:

%d bloggers like this: